Inconsistent display of (suggested) versions for contributor
During the curation sprint, we have noted several problems related to the item versions made available to users. The main problem being that because of a confusion between different item versions accessible to contributors, several suggested versions of the same item can be created and pushed in the moderation pipeline, leading to the risk of overwriting changes suggested (via different versions) while approving the last suggested version.
This issue tries to summarise these problems and to suggest a simplified workflow from the contributor point of view.
Problem: too many versions can easily be accessed/created by the same contributor.
- The DRAFT ("save as a draft" button on the edit form) is not retrieved when the same user edits the same item again.
- The last SUGGESTED version/item (?) is not retrieved when the same user edits the same item again (before its approval), while clicking on the "edit" button of the item.
- clicking on the item label in the "contributed items" leads to the preview of the last suggested version but without the "edit/history" buttons
- while editing an item for which a given contributor has already started either a draft or suggested a new version, the latest changes should be retrieved. (Alternatively, warnings messages could be added)
- Clicking on the item label in the list of items displayed in "my contributed items" should lead to the preview of the latest suggested version and include the "edit/history" buttons.
- would it be possible to see "suggested" items in the version history?
- it could be useful for a contributor to see in "my contributed items" not only the suggested items before they are approved (currently once they are approved, they disappear from the list), but all items they worked on.
Improvement in the curation workflow for moderators - esp. individuate and highlight the changes between versions - is addressed in a separate issue.